Golfer Brian Davis calls a penalty on himself in a sudden death playoff that costs him nearly $400,000 in prize money, and even more in related earnings.
How often do you see that kind of ethic in professional sports — and in the business world that includes professional sports?
Davis sensed that his back swing brushed a reed in a waste area and called over a rules official to check the television replay. Slow-motion replays confirmed the infraction, and Davis took a two-stroke penalty, handing the win to Jim Furyk.
"To have the tournament come down that way is definitely not the way I want to win the golf tournament," Furyk said. "It's obviously a tough loss for him, and I respect and admire what he did.
"To be there and be in the battle and have an opportunity to win, and then have to call a penalty on yourself has got to be extremely disappointing.
"It's a testament to our game and the people that play on the Tour, and that we have so many guys that do that.
"It's just awkward to see it happen at such a key moment. Awkward for him to lose that way, and a little awkward for me to win."